The Most Contagious (False) Anointing?

Thanks to Teddy for passing on the latest controversy:

MOST “CONTAGIOUS” ANOINTING – Florida – WARNING!
-Andrew Strom.

Todd Bentley has declared that his Florida anointing is the most “contagious” that he has ever imparted to people. (In other words, the most easily transferable). And indeed this seems to be the case. It is spreading rapidly throughout the world.

But what exactly is this anointing? One observer of the Florida revival notes: “Todd Bentley constantly manifests his “anointing” by shaking his head back and forth, and by his body physically shaking. These manifestations also happen frequently in those who he imparts to. He will even wave his arms over the audience, shouting, “Fire! Fire! Fire!” and then people in the audience will start manifesting. Some appear to be convulsing, and some even as if they are being thrashed by a spirit.”

In a CBN News interview, Todd stated: “Our focus here in Florida every night is I lay hands on every single person who comes – whether it’s 5,000, 10,000 – And I’m praying every night, ‘God, give it away, give it away, give it away.’ And that’s the focus here: Impartation.”

And indeed there are more and more reports of this anointing being transmitted from Florida to other states and nations across the globe.

As we have already seen, a report from England tells of a preacher who brought Todd’s anointing back from Florida and now it is manifesting in his UK meetings: “Fire, a burning sensation, was felt all over people’s bodies… There were outbursts of joy, drunkenness and spontaneous healings throughout the meeting.”

A man from Clearwater, Florida says that a number of people from his fellowship have attended the revival and then brought the ‘anointing’ back with them. Here is what he personally saw:

“These are the effects that I have witnessed on people who have attended this movement and either have had hands laid on them or claim to have been imparted with “the spirit”:
-They come back with this kind of childlike drunken stupor.
-Descriptions of a burning sensation either in their veins, heads or stomachs.
-Descriptions of being washed back and forth like the waves in the ocean;
-Dancing about like drunk…
-Inappropriate yelling and screaming like they’re at a football game;
-Young men whistling over and over and holding their heads and claiming that they “feel the Holy Spirit about to split them in two”;
-One young man’s back two teeth turned completely to some metallic finish.
-People with their eyes rolled in the back of their heads and weaving around like they’re lost.
-Women just gyrating and pulsating like they’re being ravaged from behind from some unseen force.
-Drunken uncontrollable laughter in the middle of a solemn prayer time.
-People being “slain in the spirit”… just falling down and being unable to move (like something’s holding them down)…”

Another eyewitness from the USA writes:

“A friend of mine invited me to a church where the ministry team brought back a “Fire” from the Lakeland revival. The pastor’s wife was moderating, but she could not complete her sentences
because she was ‘drunk in the Spirit.’ She imitated the type of sounds I read in your blog. I saw people breaking out into uncontrollable laughter. I came with my Bible to receive a word. There was no teaching or preaching. Just testimonies. They talked about their experience in Lakeland… Where was the word? I did not find any. I also heard a sound BAM and then I saw someone being slain in the spirit.”

A Spirit-filled pastor that I know from the UK who has been following Todd Bentley’s ministry closely for some years wrote to me about what he himself has observed since the year 2000:

“My difficulty with Todd Bentley’s ministry is not whether he has recently covered himself with tattoos or pierced himself silly, but the SOURCE of his power. He keeps changing his position on this. Sometimes he says it’s the Holy Spirit and a lot of the time it’s his angels.

“Many have said that they believe that Florida is a ‘mixture’. Personally, I do not believe ‘mixture’ is involved. I believe these deceiving spirits have hi-jacked Todd’s ministry. Either the healings are of God or they are not. Which is it?

“People can be healed in spiritualist churches. I have witnessed, close-up, first hand, people being instantly healed by mediums and faith healers. I have also seen people healed by the power of
the Holy Spirit. To begin with there is no discernible difference. However the counterfeit healings soon begin to either go wrong or something far worse comes upon the person.

“When God heals someone – He adds ‘no sorrow.’

“I know Todd started off OK – I was there in his early meetings. In September 2000 I stood in front of Todd and gave him the warning that God gave me for him. “Beware, the leaven of the Pharisees, lest an angelic leaven enters your ministry.”

“One month later, according to Todd’s own account, at a meeting in Grants Pass Oregon, Cal Pierce walked in with Branham’s ‘Healing Revival’ angel in tow, Todd saw and accepted this spirit without reservation. His ‘angels’ have been with him ever since.

“I have written to Todd on numerous occasions and reminded him of God’s warning, alas to no avail.

“When Todd Bentley conducted a healing meeting in a large charismatic church here in England in 2005, he laid hands on many people who were apparently healed. I know of at least one instance where a pastor’s wife with cancer was prayed for by Todd. Soon afterwards she heard voices in her head telling her to ‘drown herself just like her father did’. The poor woman ended up in a mental hospital, I believe she still has the cancer.

“No-one is following up or keeping records of what happens to people who have hands laid on them by Todd or others like him.

“I have kept records as far as I can, concerning this particular church. Over a relatively short period, there has been a dramatic increase in premature deaths, cancers, marriage break-ups, sickness and disease amongst the congregation where the leadership have allowed this type of ministry into their church. Many people left the church in fear.

“These are the consequences of following this type of ‘ministry’ which no-one is either aware of, or wants to address. I know, I have visited the people in hospital and attended one of the funerals.”
[END QUOTE]

Meanwhile we find a number of prominent leaders beginning to declare that this will be one of the greatest revival movements in history. Some even see it as the beginning of a “new awakening”.

Bob Jones declared that “This move will be a global move, traveling with signs and wonders all over the world! The third wave is here!”

As this ‘anointing’ spreads worldwide, I believe there are some serious questions that we need to ask ourselves:

Isn’t it possible, with all the dubious ‘anointings’ and angels and manifestations associated with Bentley’s ministry, that what we are really seeing is a giant ‘counterfeit’ revival? Isn’t it possible that if it continues to grow at the present rate, that it may literally become one of the great “delusions” of the Last Days – a great deception that has the power to actually deceive, if possible, the very elect?

These are very serious questions – but I believe they must be asked – because this ‘anointing’ is already beginning to circle the globe.

If you have been to a meeting where someone has brought the “fire” back from Florida, please write and tell me what you saw. I am collecting accounts from people about this. Send any emails or feedback to- prophetic@revivalschool.com

URGENT – PLEASE PASS this EMAIL ON!

Our website- http://www.revivalschool.com

God bless you all.

Andrew Strom.

So – anyone out there have any experience with this? I read one account here which said to print it out and use it as a prayer cloth for a loved one.

I thought revivals historically were about many people getting saved, like Finney’s and Moody’s revivals. If it’s just phenomenon, with no attendant bringing of people to know Jesus, then I’d have to question if it could even be called a real revival – even if the signs and wonders were all above board. If this is as big as the link above indicates, it will definitely come to Australia, and we will be confronted with this in our churches.


20 thoughts on “The Most Contagious (False) Anointing?

  1. It has gone GLOBAL. In German, its “Bumm, Bumm.”

    Check out the knee to the stomach move, I think this is one of Bentley’s best.

    starting at 4:00

  2. Todd Bentley’s ‘Emma’: Angel or Demon?

    Uncategorized

    The mega-”revival” going on in Lakeland, Florida that is being carried on God-TV every night features the latest hot property in the charismatic realm,Todd Bentley. Some Christians believe he is bringing down the power of the Holy Spirit as all kinds of manifestations are taking place at these events. Healings are being claimed and even the media is getting in on the act as a network affiliate anchorwoman claimed to be healed of a migraine by Todd. Here is a quote from one of Todd’s articles on his angelic visitations. The Bob Jones referred to is one of the Kansas City Prophets who claimed to be specially visited by an angel to start the modern prophetic movement.

    EMMA, ANGEL OF THE PROPHETIC

    “Now let me talk about an angelic experience with Emma. Twice Bob Jones asked me about this angel that was in Kansas City in 1980: “Todd, have you ever seen the angel by the name of Emma?” He asked me as if he expected that this angel was appearing to me. Surprised, I said, “Bob, who is Emma?” He told me that Emma was the angel that helped birth and start the whole prophetic movement in Kansas City in the 1980s. She was a mothering-type angel that helped nurture the prophetic as it broke out. Within a few weeks of Bob asking me about Emma, I was in a service in Beulah, North Dakota. In the middle of the service I was in conversation with Ivan and another person when in walks Emma. As I stared at the angel with open eyes, the Lord said, “Here’s Emma.” I’m not kidding. She floated a couple of inches off the floor. It was almost like Kathryn Khulman in those old videos when she wore a white dress and looked like she was gliding across the platform. Emma appeared beautiful and young-about 22 years old-but she was old at the same time. She seemed to carry the wisdom, virtue and grace of Proverbs 31 on her life.

    She glided into the room, emitting brilliant light and colors. Emma carried these bags and began pulling gold out of them. Then, as she walked up and down the aisles of the church, she began putting gold dust on people. “God, what is happening?” I asked. The Lord answered: “She is releasing the gold, which is both the revelation and the financial breakthrough that I am bringing into this church. I want you to prophecy that Emma showed up in this service-the same angel that appeared in Kansas city-as a sign that I am endorsing and releasing a prophetic spirit in the church.” See, when angels come, they always come for a reason; we need to actually ask God what the purpose is. Within three weeks of that visitation, the church had given me the biggest offering I had ever received to that point in my ministry. Thousands of dollars! Thousands! Even though the entire community consisted of only three thousand people, weeks after I left the church the pastor testified that the church offerings had either doubled or tripled.

    During this visitation the pastor’s wife (it was an AOG church) got totally whacked by the Holy Ghost- she began running around barking like a dog or squawking like a chicken as a powerful prophetic spirit came on her. Also, as this prophetic anointing came on her, she started getting phone numbers of complete strangers and calling them up on the telephone and prophesying over them. She would tell them that God gave her their telephone number and then would give them words of knowledge. Complete strangers. Then angels started showing up in the church.”

    Entire Article Here

    “Squawking like a chicken” and “barking like a dog” are attributed to the Holy Spirit by Todd Bentley. This is blasphemy. His “angel” Emma is the described in the same way by Johanna Michaelson, author of The Beautiful Side of Evil, in which demonic forces portrayed themselves to her as being full of goodness and light. It was only later that they revealed their true faces to her. These counterfeit angels are bringing further confusion on the church and promoting doctrines of demons, namely the idea that we need to see into the supernatural realm and that we need the intercessory help of angels. Hebrews 11 tells us that faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen! But that won’t draw a crowd like these “manifestations”.

  3. Barking like a dog was one of the manifestations that caused division of opinion re the Toronto Blessing.

  4. Did Todd Bentley watch Christopher Walken in the movie “Communion” by any chance? Or did he go to a Jesse Du Plantis meeting? !!!!

    ….”And I know how such a man – whether in the body or apart from the body I do not know, God knows – was caught up into Paradise and heard inexpressible words WHICH A MAN IS NOT PERMITTED TO SPEAK. On behalf of such a man I will boast; but on my own behalf I will not boast, except in regard to my weaknesses. For if I do wish to boast I will not be foolish, for I will be speaking the truth; but I refrain from this, so that no one will credit ME with more than he sees or hears from me.”

  5. Hi.

    I am currently really struggling with church. Not my faith because I know God is not church. But when I read things like this I wonder about my own salvation. How do I know that I have not been deceived in a church setting or how do I know that the preachers and pastors that I listen to haven’t? How does anyone know? I really love God but the more I attend church the less I want to do with it. I have felt the presence of God and felt the Holy Spirit, in a Toronto like manner (without anyone touching me). I have been in church meetings and heard the sound of roaring winds. I have been on a stage and seen and heard angels singing with us. I’m not making this up. I know it was real, like the computer in front of me right now. I don’t know really what I’m trying to say other than that there must be something more than this, right? If God is all the things the Bible says about him then why is the church on earth in such a divided, bickering, weak state? What was it about Wesley and all those guys that God saw and decided to open up to? Why can’t that happen today, for real? And if it did, would we accept it or sit back and be skeptical? If it was God there could not be any doubt about it, surely? Like when he comes in the second coming, no one will question it because it will be God himself.

    Sometimes I really just wish I could get away from being a human and get to the heaven part already. Maybe I could have all my questions answered or maybe heaven would be so amazing I wouldn’t care about my questions anymore. I used to get really excited at the thought of going to church and meeting with God, either through some good teaching and bible revelation or through a holy spirit encounter. But now I just can’t find anywhere that isn’t hyped and program driven.

    There has to be more than this.

  6. Poider – I do believe that God will bless your struggle. I sympathise, for what it’s worth.

    I had a similar struggle, possibly starting from a different point, and it has been good, because it was the beginning of a new journey with the Lord. I felt, and still feel at times, much grief over the extent of various types of deception as I realise the magnitude of it. Yet many people seem to have no idea of it at all.

    But the one constant as it sounds like you know, is Christ. He is there, and is the Word, and you know Him, so you do not need to doubt your salvation when your relationship is with Him. Our relationship with Christ and His Father is above any other, including any preacher or pastor. We have the Holy Spirit to give us discernment – which I believe is why some things niggle at you and just won’t go away.

    On my journey, after 20 years in megachurch environments, I reached a point where I felt I knew nothing for sure any more, except for Christ. He died for my brothers and sisters who are still caught up in things I am now free from, so I love them too – there is no need for us to be divided by bitterness and bickering. I think that people just forget that Jesus died for all of us, and our Father loves all of us – so they forget to have His love for oneanother.

    There is so much more than what you describe. Maybe you are also at the beginning of a journey where you will discover a lot more. God’s love is immeasurable, so we who live in that love may find immeasurably more than we hope for, and immeasurably more lasting depth than what programs and hype describe.

    May God bless you.

  7. I’ve read a bit more Todd Bentley stuff.

    Nice bible quote, Teddy. The topic of boasting is a good one. There seems to be an awful lot of it these days!

    S&P – Likewise. I hope my cynicism is wrong here too. But the signs aren’t hopeful.

    I did get hit by the Toronto thing when I was at a meeting in a home, not a church meeting. It happened when we were just standing around afterwards, chatting. So I’m not going to just discount every move out there.

    But… we are to test all things. There are already things about this that concern me. A focus on offerings seems to be mixed in with it, too.

  8. “If it was God there could not be any doubt about it, surely”. When Jesus was on earth pretty much no one beleived him and he is God “who has believed our report”. It is rarely clear cut and when it is it does not last long. Think of the 5000 who Jesus fed from the loaves and fishes. They walked around an inland sea the next day to see him and Jesus made it difficult to follow him further by telling them difficult “sayings”.

    “If God is all the things the Bible says about him then why is the church on earth in such a divided, bickering, weak state?” Because we don’t do what he said. “What was it about Wesley and all those guys that God saw and decided to open up to? Why can’t that happen today, for real?”

    The aim of being a christian is to know God (or rather be known by him) and as a by-product of knowing God we get eternal life (because knowing God is eternal life). Wesley and others were powerful because they knew God like a father as He has indicated we can do.

    There are lots of ways not to know God:
    1. You don’t know God by experiencing signs and wonders. Just like you would not know me by using the amazing software I write.
    2. Similarly you don’t know God by awesome praise and worship or preaching. Those things are great but they are not knowing God.
    3. Also you don’t know God by knowing about him. You could read everything ever written about Winston Churchill, say, and never know him.
    4. You don’t know God by obeying him. He spent the whole of the old testament making that particular point.

    You know God through faith. And things that you can see are not faith. Paul especially tries to get us to not judge things by what we see. The 5000 saw a miracle but had no faith in Jesus. They trapsed after him to get more of what they wanted but that was not what he wanted.

    Hebrews 11:6 But without faith it is impossible to please him: for he that comes to God must believe that he is, and that he is a rewarder of them that diligently seek him.

    And of course “believe” here means the exercising of faith. I think Wesley sought God and sought him as the scripture say he should. The person I know of who knows most about this stuff at the moment is Wayne Jacobson whose stuff I find most encouraging.

    God bless (because I know he does 🙂 )

  9. When I say “You don’t know God by obeying him.” I am saying you don’t know God by doing stuff for him. When Jesus says I no longer call you “slaves” but “friends” he was implying that the slave/obedience thing was not what God is after and does not really help our relationship with him and friendship is what he is really after.

  10. RP & Heretic,

    thanks.

    I am particularly low right now. I am dealing with the machinations of a large church and some very aggressive, determined opposition from someone I don’t actually even know, as i simply try to do what is asked of me. I am also dealing with the fact that things promised are now being revoked. It is very hurtful and I am trying to understand it all.

  11. Poider, I don’t know if this applies to your situation, but a friend of mine observed that it seems to be those who are closest to the runnings of a church that often get the most hurt. Often these people have given and sacrificed much, but the demands upon them can be unforgiving and relentless.

    Sometimes these people experience more betrayal than support, particularly if the goals of the organisation are relentless to the point of subordinating an attitude of love towards members. This is not always how things work, but I’ve seen it a few times.

    May God bless you as you work through it all, and bring you into a better place. (Even if you stay where you are!)

  12. RP,

    yeah…. that’s me. I have gone through it so many times before and yet it still happens in a regular cycle when the new “flavour” person comes through the doors.

    inside i’m just dying.

  13. Poider, you might enjoy http://www.lifestream.org/ Its about our relationship with our Father, in the midst of some of the issues we face in churches. It was one of the things that helped me at the start of a new journey.

    The mp3 downloads are great. I listen to them while I’m doing jobs around the house, or whatever. I am still relistening to them to absorb things. There are some great perspectives on well known scriptural passages which are freeing and encouraging.

    After experiencing disillusionment, I went through a kind of crisis of faith. I felt like I knew nothing really anymore except Christ. I went through a process of ‘losing’ my church, although I still attend. I have not been hurt at church like you have though. My story began with a concern for people I saw getting hurt or damaged and a concern about false doctrines (often these justified the damage I saw happening). Anyway, again, I don’t know if this will be of any help to you, but I found the perspectives there very helpful.

    I will pray for you, in any case,

  14. Oh dear God, I have ministered deliverance in the past and this sounds all too familiar. I have also had religious spirits imparted to me by “annointed” ministers.

    This is very frightening indeed.

    I was once at a prophetic conference (years ago) and most everyone but me started laughing. I could feel the Holy Spirit all over me, but I was never prompted to laughter.

  15. Thank you so much for your araticle on Todd Bently and the counterfeit miracles, signs and wonders in Lakeland,Fla. I’m pastor of NHM Church in Pharr, Tx. and I saw
    the falsehood of this man almost from the very begining of the so called “Outpouring”
    However, we need a lot of prayer because my wife believes Todd Bently and the Lakeland revival is of God. I can’t make her see the the deceitfulness of all this, nor
    Frank, our son.

  16. May God bless you, Omar. I will remember you when I pray. It sounds like a very difficult situation for your family.

Comments are closed.