‘Just Trust Me’ – Leading the Flock into the Wilderness

It’s pretty serious for us as individuals to just believe whatever comes out of our teachers’ mouths without testing it. Any teacher who says, ‘Just trust me’ should automatically be suspect (unfortunately I’ve heard ‘just trust me’ taught). This is what was said in Jeremaiah 14: 14-16 about that:

14Then the Lord said to me, The [false] prophets prophesy lies in My name. I sent them not, neither have I commanded them, nor have I spoken to them. They prophesy to you a false or pretended vision, a worthless divination [conjuring or practicing magic, trying to call forth the responses supposed to be given by idols], and the deceit of their own minds.

[…]

And the people to whom they prophesy shall be cast out in the streets of Jerusalem, victims of famine and sword; and they shall have none to bury them–them, their wives, their sons, and their daughters. For I will pour out their wickedness upon them [and not on their false teachers only, for the people could not have been deceived except by their own consent].

(Amplified Version)

Of course I am quoting OT scripture out of context here, so you’d better check up on me!

So – we are to be discerning and not too trusting. When some of the ‘shepherds’ are really ‘wolves’ and the flock can’t tell the difference, may God have mercy on the flock.

Fortunately, we have Jesus, and we don’t have to get everything right to be saved, but where we continue to believe falsehood without questioning or testing, our relationship with God is hindered and we miss out on much here and now. By questioning and testing, we may avoid spending years wandering in a wilderness, (yet still attending church) trying to ‘make’ the false doctrines work.