Plane Deception – How Do We Stand Against It?

I’m glad there are more people authoring on Signposts02 now. We all have different focus. To me, the more authors we have, the more we can enjoy different flavours here on Signposts02.

Some may know why I am fiery at the moment, others may not. I thought I might do a bit of explaining.

Let me make it clear that I am deeply in love with the body of Christ, but appalled in how off the rails churches are choosing to go. She is turning into the old Israel, trying to sell her garments of righteousness for fame and fortune. I want to make it clear that even though I may blab on about ministries or ministers for the deceptive doctrines they teach, I still believe that they are my brothers in Christ.

I would like to think that it is in my being to lay my life down for them, as love should be my motivation and not my fear for them to suffer destruction. If I call them a ‘wolf’, it means (to me) that some Christian brother is stealing from the family of God. However, only people like this will I call servants of Satan as the Apostle Paul did so in 2Corinthians:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KxfThlCcfHI

The repeated warning to the church of today by God’s Holy Spirit is being ignored as repeatedly proclaimed:

Rev 2:7 He who has an ear, let him hear what the Spirit says to the churches. – Resist deceptive teachings. (False apostles)

Rev 2:11 He who has an ear, let him hear what the Spirit says to the churches. – Resist deceptive claims. (Liars from Satan)

Rev 2:17 He who has an ear, let him hear what the Spirit says to the churches. – Resist deceptive teachings. (Teachings of Balaam)

Rev 2:29 He who has an ear, let him hear what the Spirit says to the churches. – Resist deceptive teachings. (Divine Prophetess Jezebel and her wisdom’s)

Rev 3:6 He who has an ear, let him hear what the Spirit says to the churches. – Resist deceptive reputations and flattery. (Pride!)

Rev 3:13 He who has an ear, let him hear what the Spirit says to the churches. – Resist deceptive teachings. (Liars of Satan)

Rev 3:22 He who has an ear, let him hear what the Spirit says to the churches. – Resist deceptive teachings. (Pride!)

Remember what Jesus told his disciples when they asked him “Tell us… when will this happen, and what will be the sign of your coming and of the end of the age?”

Matt24:4 And Jesus answered and said unto them, Take heed that no man deceive you.

Who has heeded such a warning and instruction?

Matt 10:16 Behold, I send you out as sheep in the midst of wolves. Therefore be wise as serpents and harmless as doves.

We MUST think for ourselves, with the mind of Christ God has given us. He is willing to lead us out of deception and to help free those who are bound by deception with the Spirit’s help. Matt 10:16 actually convicted me how I approached my last article. Maybe I could be a bit more tactful, but forgive me for being passionate. As Jude says, we must ‘contend for the faith that was once for all entrusted to the saints’. The gospel must not be diluted by ministries that promote their names more then the name of Jesus.

It is like the Lamb has truly broken the first seal so the victorious masquerader of light can deceive masses into believing another ‘Jesus’. The Old Testament is full of warning about false prophets and soothsayers. If anything, the New Testament has more warnings and encourages us to judge those who bring deception into the church (compared to the size of the OT).

When you have an ‘apostle’ openly lie to promote their ministry, (rather than have God promote them instead) – are the biblical names and descriptions ‘false teacher/apostle’, ‘liars’, ‘swindlers’, ‘hucksters’, ‘spiritual whores’, ‘wolves’, ‘servants of satan’, ‘sons of vipers’, etc., not applicable to such people? When should such titles be given? I love RavingPente for trying to understand both sides as to why certain do what they do, but it seems we must judge those who are teaching error and diluting the gospel.

1 Cor 5:12-13 It isn’t my responsibility to judge outsiders, but it certainly is your responsibility to judge those inside the church who are sinning. God will judge those on the outside; but as the Scriptures say, “You must remove the evil person from among you.”

Here are some other verses in the New Testament that warn people about being deceived (and there are more!).

Matt 24:5 For many shall come in my name, saying, I am Christ; and shall deceive many.

Matt 24:11 And many false prophets shall rise, and shall deceive many.

Matt 24:24 For there shall arise false Christs, and false prophets, and shall shew great signs and wonders; insomuch that, if it were possible, they shall deceive the very elect.

Matt 7:15 Beware of false prophets, which come to you in sheep’s clothing, but inwardly they are ravening wolves.

Act 20:29 For I know this, that after my departure savage wolves will come in among you, not sparing the flock.

Mark 13:5 And Jesus answering them began to say, Take heed lest any man deceive you:

Mark 13:6 For many shall come in my name, saying, I am Christ; and shall deceive many.

Luke 21:8 And he said, Take heed that ye be not deceived: for many shall come in my name, saying, I am Christ; for the time is near: go ye not therefore after them.

Rom 16:17-19 I urge you, brothers, to watch out for those who cause divisions and put obstacles in your way that are contrary to the teaching you have learned. Keep away from them. For such people are not serving our Lord Christ, but their own appetites. By smooth talk and flattery they deceive the minds of naive people. Everyone has heard about your obedience, so I am full of joy over you; but I want you to be wise about what is good, and innocent about what is evil.

2Cor 11:3-6 But I am afraid that just as Eve was deceived by the serpent’s cunning, your minds may somehow be led astray from your sincere and pure devotion to Christ. For if someone comes to you and preaches a Jesus other than the Jesus we preached, or if you receive a different spirit from the one you received, or a different gospel from the one you accepted, you put up with it easily enough. But I do not think I am in the least inferior to those “super-apostles.” I may not be a trained speaker, but I do have knowledge. We have made this perfectly clear to you in every way.

2 Cor 11:13-15 For such are false apostles, deceitful workers, transforming themselves into the apostles of Christ. And no marvel; for Satan himself is transformed into an angel of light. Therefore it is no great thing if his ministers also be transformed as the ministers of righteousness; whose end shall be according to their works.

Eph 4:14 That we henceforth be no more children, tossed to and fro, and carried about with every wind of doctrine, by the sleight of men, and cunning craftiness, whereby they lie in wait to deceive;

Eph 5:6-7 Let no one deceive you with empty words, for because of such things God’s wrath comes on those who are disobedient. Therefore do not be partners with them.

Col 2:2-5 My purpose is that they may be encouraged in heart and united in love, so that they may have the full riches of complete understanding, in order that they may know the mystery of God, namely, Christ, in whom are hidden all the treasures of wisdom and knowledge. I tell you this so that no one may deceive you by fine-sounding arguments. For though I am absent from you in body, I am present with you in spirit and delight to see how orderly you are and how firm your faith in Christ is.

2 Thes 2:3 Let no man deceive you by any means: for that day shall not come, except there come a falling away first, and that man of sin be revealed, the son of perdition;

2 Tim 3:13 But evil men and seducers shall wax worse and worse, deceiving, and being deceived.

Tit 1:10 For there are many unruly and vain talkers and deceivers, specially they of the circumcision:

2 Jhn 1:7 For many deceivers are entered into the world, who confess not that Jesus Christ is come in the flesh. This is a deceiver and an antichrist.

Jude 3-4 Dear friends, although I was very eager to write to you about the salvation we share, I felt I had to write and urge you to contend for the faith that was once for all entrusted to the saints. For certain men whose condemnation was written about long ago have secretly slipped in among you. They are godless men, who change the grace of our God into a license for immorality and deny Jesus Christ our only Sovereign and Lord.

This is an interesting article you might like to read about Satanic deception and how it works. I didn’t agree with everything said, nevertheless I found this insightful.

http://www.sounddoctrine.com/deception.htm

I suppose other questions that keeps arising from this is this:

How much time and energy should we put into such deceptions? (Disputing error, contending the faith, warning others, separating ourselves from the dodgy deliverers, etc.)

Even though there is much NT focus and warning on deception, what are the positive/negative outcomes in having this as one’s focus continually? Does it make you more passionate to preach or share the gospel or be involved in ministry or repel you from ministering?

How much should we judge those or separate from those who are false?

To those who know the truth, how do we stand against such plane deception so that others may see?

S&P


21 thoughts on “Plane Deception – How Do We Stand Against It?

  1. I think, for myself, you don’t have to exhaust yourself continually to make a stand against religion/dodgy doctrine etc. I think God knows we need to “have a life”, our own family, (im lucky none of my family are extreme penties) Although a couple of us were, always ramming scriptures down people’s throats, I think in one’s little world we should be the example of Jesus’s love and pick our battles. Mainly because I think God wants us not to be too stressed out and try and enjoy life.

  2. I’ll never forget God asking me a great question this year:

    “If truth is to set man free, what freedom are you finding in defending truth and freedom?”

    He got me.

    However, I have found that at appropriate times he has used me to give a word for someone that really does set people free. Just writing this, it just dawned on me that we treat truth like an object, rather then a person of the Godhead – Jesus.

    When Truth speaks, He frees.

  3. That video link the post S&P put up above, is one of the best (if not the best) I’ve seen exposing deliberate exploitation of religion for money.

    Great find.

    The guy in the video is honestly admitting to his techniques, and has found it so very easy.

    But we know there are people who do the same things, who probably believe everything they do is real. Maybe these deceived false teachers are more dangerous than those who exploit consciously, as they actually believe that God is with them in their actions, which they just can’t bear to admit to themselves are pure exploitation.

    I can’t tell the difference between those who deliberately deceive and those who think its real but deceive via the same methods, nonetheless.

    If any of these techniques are actually taught in a Bible College, then we’d have an example of believers being taught to deceive, but having it justified as a means to an end – a couple of examples to get the ball rolling, then the ‘Holy Spirit’ does the rest.

    As Bull always says – ‘follow the money’. Once money is a condition for or improves the odds for answered prayer and blessing, then I think its pretty much guaranteed there is deception going on, whether deliberate or unadmitted even to themselves. This condition typifies prosperity doctrine oriented churches.

  4. yes RP, i can now discern when a “Christian” (Boy don’t I love inverted commas) is deceived. One person, at church, said the Victorian fires were a curse by God on the victorians because of their sin or whatever and I disagreed and gave a logical explanation and they just stared at me like they saw a ghost. Also, I agree, there are times when one can be truthful, and times when probably best to let them go their merry way

  5. “One person, at church, said the Victorian fires were a curse by God on the victorians because of their sin or whatever and I disagreed and gave a logical explanation and they just stared at me like they saw a ghost.”

    They must have been a Danny Nalliah lover!

  6. “I can’t tell the difference between those who deliberately deceive and those who think its real but deceive via the same methods, nonetheless.

    If any of these techniques are actually taught in a Bible College, then we’d have an example of believers being taught to deceive, but having it justified as a means to an end – a couple of examples to get the ball rolling, then the ‘Holy Spirit’ does the rest.” – RP

    Hmm… I have obtained a C3 Document entitled ‘20/20… What Is It Going To Take?‘. I honestly don’t know how I got this. A student probably gave it to me because I’m often curious as to what they study. And there are notes on the papers.

    It is about growing churches like you would a company, only spiritually hyped and with faulty scripture application.

    It’s got a bunch of really stretched scripture to justify certain actions, but under the heading ‘We Will Need To Shift!‘, point 2 says the following:

    “2. A shift around us… A philosophical shift

    * From me to we
    * From me to team
    * There is a philosophical shift in leadership from the old model TRANSACTIONAL TO TRANSFORMATIONAL LEADERSHIP
    * Transaction was… “I will do this and we want you to do that”
    * Transformational is much more inspirational and engaging the emotions of the individuals in the organisation. Therefore the buy in factor is a lot higher
    * Not just delegation but involvement…”

    At the very end it says this:

    A vision from Phil Taylor

    The VISION was a picture of Neil Armstrong and other astronauts of the first landing on the moon. They were placing the American flag proudly to mark their arrival.

    INTERPRETATION
    What I believe the Holy Spirit was saying is this – as a church and as a movement, we are going to go to places beyond where we have been and beyond where others have been, doing some things for the first time, even as this was a first landing on the moon.

    The flag represented Christian City Church movement – what I felt the Holy Spirit saying is that our movement will continue to gain favour across the world and its influence will increase – we will become more and more recognised globally.

    I found what was written to be creepy. It seems so reasonable, then there’s the twist.

  7. Yes, favour, is a common theme. I used to believe that until I stopped, stood back, and thought favour is on the good and the bad, there is no big distinction. I have someone in my family who has alot of worldy stuff and is very comfortable and they wouldn’t even set foot in a church unless its a wedding or funeral.

  8. Maybe Phil Taylor should go back and re-interpret his vision.

    If the flag = the C3 movement, and the flag was American – then that says something about the major influences on the C3 movement. Look at the major influential American Pente movements and where much of the teaching at C3 ccmes from .

    Secondly – the Americans landed on the moon, and it certainly was a first time achievement, and they planted their symbolic flage, but look at the true dominance of America. In many ways, it is now waning. The moon landing was great PR, but didn’t affect things on earth much. Not only that – its had no actual effect on the moon either! Perhaps C3’s aims ought to be a bit more earthly or they’ll have spectacular PR, but little to show for it on earth.

    Anyway – just me mucking around with interpretation. Its not a difficult thing to do. 🙂

  9. TRANSACTIONAL TO TRANSFORMATIONAL LEADERSHIP
    * Transaction was… “I will do this and we want you to do that”
    * Transformational is much more inspirational and engaging the emotions of the individuals in the organisation. Therefore the buy in factor is a lot higher

    Hmm – the ‘buy in factor’???

    Its not that they are wrong – transformational leadership is what every organisation is really after. But its the way its phrased… not really a case of the Holy Spirit leading; much more like a marketing campaign. So those poor congregants are viewed as a bunch of people who ‘buy in’.

    What about some good solid teaching, rather than emotional buy in?

  10. “If I call them a ‘wolf’, it means (to me) that some Christian brother is stealing from the family of God.”

    Not necessarily. It could be a conscious wolf like the one in the video you posted.

  11. “I love RavingPente for trying to understand both sides as to why certain do what they do, but it seems we must judge those who are teaching error and diluting the gospel.” – S&P

    Thanks S&P, but its not that I’m trying to be ‘understanding’. I think its terrible! However – I can’t see someone’s heart, only God can, and I’m not going to judge something I don’t really have knowledge of. Happy to leave that in God’s hands. Which in the case of a true wolf, is not a desirable place to be, unless they have come to truly know Christ in the meantime.

    ‘Judge’ has several meanings. To judge teaching, is to evaluate what is true or false. Our judgement may sometimes be in error here. To judge whether a behaviour is sin or not, is also to discern – but again, we may sometimes be in error when we don’t really have all the information. However, there are many cases when its easy to say that a particular behaviour is sinful – adultery for example.

    So I do believe we can judge whether a person’s behaviour is sin. We can judge whether their teaching is true or false. We can look at a person or ministry’s character and fruit to judge whether it is good or not. In doing so, its paramount that we realise we ourselves are probably hypocritical and imperfect in all sorts of ways, some of which we don’t see at all.

    What we don’t do is judge whether someone is consigned to hell or not. That’s not the kind of judgement we are to make.

  12. So to judge someone’s motives is difficult. We can make a best guess, based on what we see and hear of their actions and words. We can’t know in the way that God knows.

  13. “So to judge someone’s motives is difficult.”… I mean, to judge with complete certainty is difficult if not often impossible, given that we cannot see their heart. So to speak as if we can judge in this way, can be hubris.

  14. BTW. ‘Plane’ or planao in Greek apparently means ‘deceive’. (Thus the title.)

    Pathah or nasha’ in Hebrew.

  15. PP tweets today “Oral Roberts hero of the faith numbers amongst the champions of the faith of all time.”

    Yet a simple google search will expose Roberts as well as many other Word of Faith TBN’ers as false prophets and wolves.

    I have so little to say and so much to think about. 🙂

  16. “You shall know them by their fruits.” I think that scripture says alot. You can look at a person’s life and see God working in their heart I believe. I have a Christian friend, who was a full-on pente in the 80s, they eventually left the movement but of course stayed a Christian. They are a loving parent and spouse, and friend. An absolute gem of a person. I have other examples. I think if a person is quietly going about their business, being honest and caring and putting their family first, that is a testament.

  17. Hmm… You can often know a lot about someone by the company they choose to be with.

    Is this a good way of discerning their credibility as a minister or teacher.

    Wolves do tend to travel in packs, for good reason.

  18. Birds of a feather, flock together I suppose. there’s a proverb that goes from the heart comes the truth, or something like that. From the heart comes words and actions, ill look it up ;o)

  19. This morning i just remembered a sermon from an 1980s pentie church (my first) some people were buying into the evil spirits “in” objects/things etc etc. The minister preached “Evil is in the heart of man” or “begins in the heart of man” (he was brought up Baptist i think). It really rattled some people and was a sobering comment (although i think it is scriptural too.

Comments are closed.