Brotherly or Prostitutionary?

Jeremiah 3:6 When King Josiah was ruling Judah, the Lord said to me, “Did you see what unfaithful Israel did? She was like a prostitute with her idols on every hill and under every green tree.

Maybe I’ve taken this too far out of context, but has anyone observed how much Bentley promoted other fraudulent ministries?

Has anyone observed how often the ElijahList also heavily promoted whacky, fraudulent and non-Christian based teachers, ministers, prophets, apostles and their dodgy ministries?

Surely this is worth discussing. How fruitful is it to promote other people’s ministries for the main sermon? All I remember Todd Bentley talking about (and still is) is what God is doing right now in his ministry and then advertising books and other ministries intensely. To me, he has sided with some dodgy ministers and also promotes their books, but it is not just Bentley.

If I was good friends with Patricia King, John Crowder or Joyce Meyer, it would seem quite brotherly to promote their ministries beside my own. Why? Because if I loved them sincerely, I would (if I didn’t think they were at fault).

But what I have seen in the last few dozen years or so seems more to be spiritual prostitution rather then brotherly support (if that’s what it is… maybe it would be good to define exactly what it is). So when should ministers/ ministries back-scratch, and when should they not?

Does flattery play a role in this; or does the back-scratching? What turns brothers and sisters into spiritual prostitutes and how can it be prevented? What ARE the early warning signs that ministers should take note of?

Here are some other verses:

Jeremiah 3:8 Judah saw that I divorced unfaithful Israel because of her adultery, but that didn’t make Israel’s wicked sister Judah afraid. She also went out and acted like a prostitute!

Hosea 2:2 “Plead with your mother. Accuse her, because she is no longer my wife, and I am no longer her husband. Tell her to stop acting like aprostitute, to stop behaving like an unfaithful wife.

Hosea 4:15 “Israel, you act like a prostitute, but do not be guilty toward the Lord. Don’t go to Gilgal or go up to Beth Aven. Don’t make promises, saying, ‘As surely as the Lord lives . . .’

Hosea 5:3 I know all about the people of Israel; what they have done is not hidden from me. Now that Israel acts like a prostitute, it has made itself unclean.

Hosea 9:1 Israel, do not rejoice; don’t shout for joy as the other nations do. You have been like a prostitute against your God. You love the pay of prostitutes on every threshing floor.

Amos 7:17 “Because you have said this, the Lord says: ‘Your wife will become a prostitute in the city, and your sons and daughters will be killed with swords. Other people will measure your land and divide it among themselves, and you will die in a foreign country. The people of Israel will definitely be taken from their own land as captives.’ “

Some thoughts to ponder on.

S&P