“I’m A Barbie Girl… In What?”

Slaughter of the Sheep posts…

Reverend Barbie

Just what your wee one wants for Christmas – Reverend Barbie.  I only wish I were making this up.

Reverend Julie Blake Fisher of Kent, Ohio, created the doll as a gift for a friend, and also uses the doll in her youth ministry so the children can play with the vestments and learn what they are.  (Source.)  I don’t know, I guess I always felt learning the Word of God was more important than learning what vestments are, but what do I know?  I’m just a Bible believer.

Oh, and get this… Reverend Barbie has her own Facebook page.

I only shudder to think of what apostate church leaders will come up with next.

http://slaughteringthesheep.wordpress.com/2010/04/10/reverend-barbie/


7 thoughts on ““I’m A Barbie Girl… In What?”

  1. Pretty bad, hey! Maybe a little girl whose mummy is a preacher in a traditional church will enjoy this present!

  2. Fair call, Greg. I just see it as more Christian kitsch. Many kids toys are kitsch. Like the Little Pony that I’m probably going to get my own daughter at some stage.

    Vestments etc can emphasize the holiness of an occasion, but also in some contexts can be seen as in conflict with the priesthood of all believers. I thought that some religious garb actually sprang from an original stance of dressing like the people, but never changing with fashion, as regular clothes did.

    To be honest though, I don’t personally regard vestments as a big deal. They can add to the ceremony of special occasions.

  3. For what its worth, a definition of ‘kitsch’:

    Kitsch (English pronunciation: /ˈkɪtʃ/, loanword from German) is an art that is considered an inferior, tasteless copy of an extant style of art or a worthless imitation of art of recognized value. The concept is associated with the deliberate use of elements that may be thought of as cultural icons [1] while making cheap mass-produced objects that are unoriginal. Kitsch also refers to the types of art that are aesthetically deficient (whether or not being sentimental, glamorous, theatrical, or creative) and that make creative gestures which merely imitate the superficial appearances of art through repeated conventions and formulae. Excessive sentimentality often is associated with the term.

    The term kitsch is considered derogatory, denoting works executed to pander to popular demand alone and purely for commercial purposes rather than works created as self-expression by an artist.[2] The term is generally reserved for unsubstantial and gaudy works that are calculated to have popular appeal and are considered pretentious and shallow rather than genuine artistic efforts.[3]

    But just because something is kitsch, doesn’t mean it can’t be used, enjoyed and laughed at/with.

  4. Good point Greg. I agree with you there. I simply post this up because I found it amusing.

  5. I think there should be a ‘megapastor’ Barbie. A Barbie who goes out on the speaking circuit or preaches on GodTV. What should she wear? Perhaps she could come with her private Barbie Jet, and some Barbie Bodyguards.

Comments are closed.