The Barna Group Report

Some interesting information has been released by Barna Group. Their report indicates that in the US:

1. The Christian Church is becoming less theologically literate.

2. Christians are becoming more ingrown and less outreach-oriented.

3. Growing numbers of people are less interested in spiritual principles and more desirous of learning pragmatic solutions for life.

4. Among Christians, interest in participating in community action is escalating.

5. The postmodern insistence on tolerance is winning over the Christian Church.

6. The influence of Christianity on culture and individual lives is largely invisible.

Read the report here: http://www.barna.org/culture-articles/462-six-megathemes-emerge-from-2010


5 thoughts on “The Barna Group Report

  1. Who’s fault? – The people who gather to themselves teachers with half a brain and a sertifikate 4 in kristian ministrey from Sunshine Tafe who will scratch their carnal itches….

  2. I will quite happily leave those practicing idolatry to their sins. It’s those that are innocently caught up in these spiritual whorehouses I’m hoping to lead out and show them the true Spirit of God and the amazing truths revealed in His Word.

    People accuse me of being divisive. So be it! Now I know what Jesus means when he said:

    Matt:34 “Do not suppose that I have come to bring peace to the earth. I did not come to bring peace, but a sword.”

    As long as I am accused for doing the right things like leading people to study the scriptures themselves and relying on God to help them understand, then I will quite happily smile at those who condemn me. I find a peace in that now from the comments and emails I get from SP02.

  3. I find point 6 quite pointless.
    I believe a lot of the churches work is meant to be invisible. If we’re trying to be visible, influential and in your face – we fail.

    But when we are humbly invisible, looking after people behind the scenes, then the world definitely appreciates us for the right reason. The whole world is trying to be noticed and the church is trying to be the same!

    The Spirit of God is not that of the world. When we notice and care for the invisible, we become visible to those who need God most. Even the scripture say that Jesus was just an average looking man.

Comments are closed.