Phil Pringle and his encounter with the Hoky Spirit

http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=_V9FRVmlkUs


16 thoughts on “Phil Pringle and his encounter with the Hoky Spirit

  1. When God reveals Himself, men fall on their faces…. but not Phil, he’s too cool for that – he speaks to God as his best mate…. run for your lives.

  2. Ex 33:11 So the LORD spoke to Moses face to face, as a man speaks to his friend.

    2 Chronicles 20
    5* Then Jehoshaphat stood in the assembly of Judah and Jerusalem, in the house of the LORD, before the new court,
    6* and said: “O LORD God of our fathers, are You not God in heaven, and do You not rule over all the kingdoms of the nations, and in Your hand is there not power and might, so that no one is able to withstand You?
    7* “Are You not our God, who drove out the inhabitants of this land before Your people Israel, and gave it to the descendants of Abraham Your friend forever?”

    Isa 41:8 “But you, Israel, are My servant, Jacob whom I have chosen, The descendants of Abraham My friend.”

    John 15
    14 “You are My friends if you do whatever I command you.
    15 “No longer do I call you servants, for a servant does not know what his master is doing; but I have called you friends, for all things that I heard from My Father I have made known to you.

    Jas 2:23 And the Scripture was fulfilled which says, “Abraham believed God, and it was accounted to him for righteousness.” And he was called the friend of God.

    Joh 14:21 “He who has My commandments and keeps them, it is he who loves Me. And he who loves Me will be loved by My Father, and I will love him and manifest Myself to him.”

    Romans 8
    14 For as many as are led by the Spirit of God, these are sons of God.
    15 For you did not receive the spirit of bondage again to fear, but you received the Spirit of adoption by whom we cry out, “Abba, Father.”
    16 The Spirit Himself bears witness with our spirit that we are children of God,
    17 and if children, then heirs–heirs of God and joint heirs with Christ, if indeed we suffer with Him, that we may also be glorified together.

    Romans 8
    5 For those who live according to the flesh set their minds on the things of the flesh, but those who live according to the Spirit, the things of the Spirit.
    6 For to be carnally minded is death, but to be spiritually minded is life and peace.
    7 Because the carnal mind is enmity against God; for it is not subject to the law of God, nor indeed can be.
    8 So then, those who are in the flesh cannot please God.
    9 But you are not in the flesh but in the Spirit, if indeed the Spirit of God dwells in you. Now if anyone does not have the Spirit of Christ, he is not His.

  3. So, Steve…we all know what the bible says…are you saying you have no problem with this video or Phil’s claim! Do you simply accept he is telling the truth?

  4. Does the invisible God yet appear to people?

    The interesting thing about Moses is that Jesus himself says no man has seen God at any time, only the Son of God, and yet both Moses and Abraham spoke to God.

    But was it God, or was it the Angel of the Lord, who appeared to people, but is associated with the pre-incarnate Son of God?

    This is called a theophany, and it is generally understood that the Word or Son of God appears to people at various times.

    Joshua probably had such an encounter before he went against Jericho.

    It is generally understood that He appeared to them not in the flesh but in a vision, and yet he was as real as if he were there in he flesh.

    Do you remember when Jesus was transformed before the eyes of three of his disciples and appeared with Moses and Elijah?

    Paul says he was translated to the third heaven and received revelation, some of which he could not pass on at hat time. Stephen saw the heavens open and God appeared to him.

    God spoke to Mary through an angel.

    People have encounters with God in different ways.

    Has anyone here seen an angel? They are spirits. Sometimes God speaks through angels, as He did with Gabriel to Mary. It was as if He were there. Angels are messengers sent to minister on behalf of the saints.

    Spirits are invisible, yet people have seen into the spirit and seen angels. The Word calls it having heir eyes opened. Elijah asked God open his servant Gehazi’s eyes so he could see the thousands of angels which were defending the two of them from an attacking army.

    This doesn’t mean he was literally blind, but that God could open his eyes to see into the spirit and observe things he could not see with his natural eyes.

    I have known the presence of angels in meetings, and seen visions of heavenly things, not very often, I could count them on one hand, although I could not say I had literally seen an angel, as others claim, or had an open vision of the Godhead. But I have known and seen them in the spirit.

    So, do you believe in angels? Some of you do not believe in demons, so why would you believe that there are angels or that angels are spirits, and are, on occasion, able to appear to us.

    How did Jesus manage to appear to the disciples when he was risen? He did not walk into the room through the door. It says he appeared. He also suddenly appeared on the road to Emmaus.

    I am not sure about seeing the Holy Spirit as if you see Jesus, but He is the Spirit of Christ, so how do I know how Christ would appear to a person, do you?

    And was the appearance a vision or having his eyes opened as Gehazi, or the real thing? He doesn’t say. He appears to be saying He was invisible yet he saw Him in a flash or in a vision, as if he saw Him and yet could not have, and He revealed Himself as a Friend.

    God revealed Himself as a Friend to Moses and Abraham, and declared Himself a Friend to His disciples.

    It could not be a real flesh and blood thing because the Spirit of God is not visible. God is not visible. Christ is visible and touchable and has a spiritual, glorified body, and is God, and the Spirit is the Spirit of Christ and the Spirit of God and He is One.

    As Jesus said to Thomas, ‘do you doubt me because you did not see me and touch me?’ But has He ever appeared to anyone? Yes.

    Someone gets shirty about the word ‘stuff’.

    The word ‘stuff’ is a very good, modern, if simple, translation of huperstasis, ‘substance’. How would you describe substance? In terms of spiritual matter you can’t. The early church couldn’t without going in to Greek and Latin summersaults, and you can’t in plain Englis, we just don’t have the words.

    You’re just religiously offended by a word which can apply in other ways. Would you prefer indescribable utterances, as Paul gives us, or unfathomable

  5. Greg,
    So, Steve…we all know what the bible says…

    Crumbs, that’s a new one for you! Well done. Welcome to the lIght Side.

  6. “I am not sure about seeing the Holy Spirit as if you see Jesus, but He is the Spirit of Christ, so how do I know how Christ would appear to a person, do you?”

    Steve, you gave good scriptures and I’m on your side when it comes to being open to people seeing angels etc. I personally see no reason why events recorded in the OT the gospels and the book of Acts can’t happen today. That’s my position.

    I’m not shirty about “stuff”. I’m saying it’s totally bizarre that the only person in Christian history (that I know of) who publicly states they have seen the Holy Spirit, talks casually about talking about stuff.

    Once again – I’m open to a bible/ christian experience lesson on this one. But, I don’t think anyone has ever see the Holy Spirit. Maybe you call that splitting hairs (seeing Christ vs the Holy Spirit), but to me it’s incredibly significant.

    And, just as I feel no responsibility to believe every claimed experience of Ian’s or Bentley’s or the kids at Fatima, I’ll say I don’t believe Pringle saw the Holy Spirit.

    But, tell me more. Are there other who claim that?

    And basically, if a Christian minister has publicly claimed to have see the Holy Spirit, I think it’s pretty normal that Christians would want to ask questions about it.

    Like I said, it’s a monumental claim that I don’t think Paul, Peter, andy church father, or respected Christian has ever made. Ever.

    Not calling him a heretic, or saying he should step down.

    Just amazed, enough to make me think twice about being part of his movement.

    And I’ve considered it.

    Huge question mark for me.

    If it’s possible that he actually saw the Holy Spirit, then that’s impressive.

  7. ON the subject of Pringle – here is something I like about him. Before Hillsong. Planet people etc, I think C3 was the group that showed that you could be a Christian and be totally zealous and go to a church of like-minded people who retained their youthful relevance -or cool, however you want to put it.

    Before C3, charismatic churches were basically full of men wearing shirts and ties and singing “This is the Day”.

    So, they started a really new Christian lifestyle. So I give him creds for that.

    And – I’d love to see the Holy Spirit!!!

  8. “I’d love to see the Holy Spirit!!!”

    A bottle of scotch and some meds and you’ll be seeing the Holy Spirit, Jesus, the 4 Horsemen, Moses and Paul on the ark, David holding hands with Abraham, a singing lamb, people floating around the room being raptured.

    Works for me.

  9. Dunno but they made a racket. Should’ve written it down like John did.

    Would you believe me if I told you I saw the Holy Spirit topless dancing and She’s pretty hot?

  10. “Thou art cursed to the seventh level of Hell.”

    That’s a relief! At least I didn’t make it to the thirteenth level.

    Heard that was pretty bad.

  11. Final comment on this one. Not for me to judge whether someone has seen a vision or not.

    For all I know God could have allowed Pringle to see some kind of representation of the Holy Spirit which made sense to him.

    In the Bible there are accounts of the Holy Spirit descending like a dove. What kind of dove and what size and why I have no idea.
    There were tongues of fire on the day of Pentecost. God can intervene in our senses for reasons known to Him.

    Phil Pringle is not my Pastor, so in the end it’s none of my business.

    What I will try to do is to be open to the Spirit, grieve not the Spirit, and be continually filled with the Holy Spirit.

    Bless you guys.

    (anyone notice I’ve turned over a new leaf?)

    Halleluya!

    Have a wonderful day guys. Great day to be alive!

Comments are closed.