I hate it when things happen that challenge my understanding of God as a non-interventionist God

Last Saturday night I was on my way up the F3 freeway on my bike and I ran out of petrol.  Normally I use the milleage indicator on my bike to determine how much petrol I’ve got left…after each fill up I reset it to 00000 and so when it gets to around 230km I kionw I’m going to have to fill up again soon.  For some reason I hadn’t reset my indicator properly and thought it read only 89km when I set off.  Plenty of petrol I thought.  Wrong.

I found out also that instead of returning my tank valve switch from reserve tank back to normal tank setting last time I’d filled up, I’d left it on reserve tank and so had completely run out.  It was dark, I was no where near another petrol statoin adn really, who’s going to stop in the middle fo the freeway for a leather clad bikie to give him a lift to the servo? I ahd also left my phone at home and so had no way of contacting anyone to ask for help, my wife would have been freaking out becaseu I hadn’;t contacted her to tell her I’d arrived safely (I had a pretty sever accident on my bike late last year, and she worries when I’m out riding)

At the exact time as I was spluttering and gurgling and coasting to a stop along the shoulder of the freeway, two of my God’s Squad brothers, who NEVER ride along that part of the free way to go on runs – they live on the other side of Maitland and so would have been heading to our meeting place from the totally opposite direction – rode past, saw my bottom rocker (the bottom tag on the back of my cut off that simply says AUSTRALIA – I’m a nom so don’t have full colours yet) and stopped to help me…I hadn’t even completely stopped when helped arrived.  One of my brothers went to get petrol while the other stayed with me and we chatted – and within twenty minutes I was back on the road and we went on our run.

Hmmm….


8 thoughts on “I hate it when things happen that challenge my understanding of God as a non-interventionist God

  1. Praise God, Greg.

    Today I was driving around looking for a parking spot with none in sight in busy traffic when BEHOLD THE LORD DID PROVIDE.

    Nothing is impossible for our God.

    (Unless your starving and dying in the third world)

  2. Bikie’s shouldn’t get Tanked!
    But you can always rely on a chopper, to bloody well wake me up in the morning. BUGGERS!!!

  3. This guy was at my church just before Christmas doing gospel magic shows.

    Christopher Wayne is a famous illusionist who used magic to communicate the gospel.

    He posted this on his facebook page

    “Hey guys, I have something very important to share.

    Alot of you would know me as a “Christian Entertainer”.
    As of today I want to publicly let you know that this is not something that I identify as any more. This is a journey that I have been on for some time, and want to be really straight forward and open because of my profile.

    Im still very passionate about encouraging people to live their lives to their full potential, but the Christian faith is now something that I am no longer tied to professionally or personally.

    I will still be working in entertainment, and I am still the same guy that you know and love.

    For the years that I shared my faith journey on stage, I will say that it was a real pleasure to be able to use my story to encourage people on their own personal journeys.

    If you have any questions or thoughts, Im more than happy to hear them and would invite you to contact me directly on morethanmagic@westnet.com.au

    Much love always.
    CW”

    https://www.facebook.com/chriswaynemagic

  4. This guy was at my church just before Christmas doing gospel magic shows.

    Christopher Wayne is a famous illusionist who used magic to communicate the gospel.

    He posted this on his facebook page

    “Hey guys, I have something very important to share.

    Alot of you would know me as a “Christian Entertainer”.
    As of today I want to publicly let you know that this is not something that I identify as any more. This is a journey that I have been on for some time, and want to be really straight forward and open because of my profile.

    Im still very passionate about encouraging people to live their lives to their full potential, but the Christian faith is now something that I am no longer tied to professionally or personally.

    I will still be working in entertainment, and I am still the same guy that you know and love.

    For the years that I shared my faith journey on stage, I will say that it was a real pleasure to be able to use my story to encourage people on their own personal journeys.

    Much love always.
    CW”

    https://www.facebook.com/chriswaynemagic

  5. Interesting interview. Certainly rejects the interventionist God of the West.

    Christopher Wayne has lost the faith which was central to his life and his career. This gospel magician will soon take to the stage naked – both in terms of faith, and literally naked. He talks with Kat Davidson about why he lost it, and what it means to a man who based his life around his beliefs.

    Interesting that he had these doubts and had agreed to do the naked magician show while still doing gospel shows in churches.

Comments are closed.